Crafty Christmas

I don’t know whether it’s the recession or whether magazines and bloggers have just started to feel old-timey, but there seem to be lots of  “make  your own [insert cool thing here]” ideas floating around lately.  This got me thinking, wouldn’t my mom rather have a candle that I made as opposed to one I bought?  Probably (as long as the one I made wasn’t akin to the ones I made at camp that involved wax cups and ice cubes).  With this in mind, Brian and I decided to give some of our nearest and dearest homemade gifts this Christmas.

Here are some of the ideas I have for cool gifts to make.  At this point I haven’t narrowed them down to what we’re actually going to make, but all the better – I can’t spoil the surprise that way!

Edibles:
As much as Brian doesn’t like sweets, I do (as do most people with taste buds) and these look scrumptious!

Cocoa Molasses Toffee

This recipe looks pretty simple and sounds amazing… if only I had a candy thermometer (probably better in the long run that I don’t, though!).

Chocolate Caramel Crack(ers)

This is a favorite recipe of mine and you can use either matzo or saltines – I actually prefer the matzo because I love the sea salt sprinkled on top (it’s too salty to have that with the saltines…).

Ginger Cinnamon Caramels

Don’t these look like they would just melt in your mouth?!  Plus they just sound Chistmas-y.

Chocolate Peppermint Sandwiches

I’ve never made anything like this before and they sound amazing… just like big, soft Oreos.  And speaking of Oreos…

Oreo Truffles

These would be so cute with red or green icing drizzled on them – though, that would probably be waaaay more likely to smear and look like a kindergartener made them than red or green sprinkles would. You could even add a little peppermint extract to the mix to really amp up the Christmas cheer.

Gingersnaps

Oh boy do I love me a good gingersnap – one that is a little crunchy on the edges and chewy in the middle… and it’s one of the few sweet things I don’t really think about any other time of they year.  I think they just taste better when there is a nip in the air.

Peppermint Patties

I absolutely love peppermint patties – my movie candy of choice is Junior Mint – so it would be fun to try to make them at home.

Ok, this has become a suuuuper long post (mostly because the more I think about the yummy things I could be making for gifts, the more pop into my mind!).  I’m going to do the non-edibles at a later date!

2 Comments

Filed under crafting

2 responses to “Crafty Christmas

  1. Today I went with the peppermint patties. Pretty tasty, but tricky to mix. The blender was not very cooperative.

  2. Mmmmm. I’m going to make the Oreo things right now. Gotta run an errand for Toni so I will go get the stuff from the store. I’ll send Brian a pic of my finished product!

let me know what you think!

