Electronic Recipe Reader

So, I always thought this would be something that “future me” would use (you know, the me that lives next door to the Jetsons?), but amazingly it exists in present me’s world. Wow.
Has anyone else out there heard of the Demy? it houses all your recipes as well as a database of other recipes.  It has a timer, a substitution guide, a conversion table… and it’s kitchen safe – so you don’t have to worry about splattering things on it!  Thankfully, I have yet to ruin my computer when cooking, but I also keep it pretty far out of reach making it more difficult to refer back to a recipe while I’m cooking…

Sounds like a pretty amazing gadget, but perhaps too good to be true?

Things I’m potentially concerned about:

1. How would I get all the recipes I have in my binder/box on to it?  The idea of typing them all out, which is what the Demy FAQ page says you’d have to do, makes me a little nauseous.  The website says something about scanning, but I can’t actually read about what that would entail…
2. Also, it works with a site called Key Ingredient, but what if you spend all this time setting up your recipes on Key Ingredient and then down the road you get a new, better electronic recipe reader and it’s not compatible with Key Ingredient?

What do you think?  I love that there is something out there like this, but I think I’ll hold out for one that doesn’t have quite as many potential hang-ups.

2 Comments

Filed under just for fun

2 responses to “Electronic Recipe Reader

  1. Lacey

    Interesting…I have never heard of this before now. I like the idea but would have the same reservations! But with the new release of the I-pad, I have to wonder if it could be the next future electronic recipe holder. Surely if its namesake is the key to the modern woman’s existance, it would also find some use in the kitchen – the one room in the house considered the woman’s domain!

let me know what you think!

