First Look

Brian and I decided to do a “first look” before the ceremony because we weren’t starting our ceremony until 4:30 and were worried we’d lose the light if we waited until afterward to do our portraits. And High Hampton’s grounds are just too gorgeous not to take advantage of in the daylight.

Walking to the first look location

Neither of us were particularly superstitious and I had read so many accounts of brides who felt the “first look” moment was just as special, if not more so, than the walking down the aisle moment.

Waiting for Brian to arrive at the first look location

These many brides told me that there is an intimacy to seeing each other for the first time alone, well apart from the photographers.

Brian walking up to the first look location with his eyes closed

I found this to be true – the whole time I was waiting for Brian to get to the first look location I kept feeling more and more like my heart was about to leap out of my chest, so seeing him after all that build up (without my dad to calm me down) was an overwhelmingly beautiful moment.

Right before the first look

Scary and beautiful and amazing and so perfect that my hearts still gets a little fluttery thinking about it.

Our first look

What do you guys think?  First look or wait until the ceremony?  I guess it’s really a personal choice and you have to feel at peace with whatever you decide.  For us, this was perfect.

7 Comments

Filed under wedding

7 responses to “First Look

  1. Virginia Montgomery

    Who makes your dress? I REALLY love it!!!

  2. Justine Russo

    Gorgeous photos!
    I am a professional photographer and I am writing a blog this month on the pros and cons of a First Look! Do you mind if I post a link to your blog?
    http://www.justinerusso.wordpress.com

    • NatalieBA

      Thanks! I am more than happy to let you link to them – just make sure to mention my fabulous photographer, Angela Stott! xo

  3. JennSchwen

    I totally agree with you on the first look moment. Its a really nice way to connect and focus yourselves after all the preparation!!

    PS You looked AMAZING!!!

  4. molly t

    I think the pictures of you by the tree and when you two opened your eyes are my favorite shots of you two at the wedding (so far) that are on your blog. I actually really like the idea & the intimacy aspect of first look pictures… I’d actually never heard of it before, but it totally makes sense photography-wise & and a little moment before the big event that just the two of you share 🙂

  5. Lizz

    this is so gorgeous! you both look amazing and so happy. i love wedding wednesdays 🙂

let me know what you think!

