Thoughts on Peanut Butter

Recently, I’ve been thinking some deep thoughts about peanut butter… I know, I need to get a hobby.  But really, there are so many varieties of PB alternatives out there that I feel I should give them a chance.  I have a serious obsession with “real” PB – I think it is one of the reasons I could never really be an ex-pat, even though my “maybe someday” daydreams include me as a snooty Parisian. 

That being said, I don’t mind the all natural stuff – I tried the Smuckers variety once, and it was pretty good (even though the smooth is really closer to crunchy than it is to smooth).

And one time a Davidson student brought almond butter in, which she made from real almonds using a cool “butter making” machine at our local health food store.  My colleagues mostly thought it was weird, but I liked it. 

There is also this Barney butter stuff, which I heard a bunch about on Kath Eats and my friend Maddie just informed me that she bought some to try – maybe she’ll let me sample some?  In case you’re curious (I was), Barney Butter is an almond butter that poses as PB (sneaky, sneaky).

 

Lastly, I read up on this PB2 stuff, which I’ve heard a lot about, and have only heard positive reviews. It’s basically a peanut butter powder that you mix with water (it also comes in a chocolate PB variety – yum) to make a PB spread.  It’s all natural, which I find comforting, since it is a powder… AND I have heard Julie raaaave about PB2 and everything she makes with it looks and sounds tasty… I really want to try it, but I’m a little nervous about buying four cases of the stuff (I could only find it online through it’s producer, Bell Plantation). 

Do you think about PB as much as I do?  Are you of the “if it ain’t broke don’t fix it” mindset (that’s how Brian feels…)?  I think I just like to experiment… Right now, PB2 is on at the top of my list to try (I think mostly b/c it is the most different, has the most positive reviews for being PB-like, and it comes in a chocolate PB flavor), but do I need a year’s supply of PB2?  Probably not… have you been able to find stuff like this elsewhere?  Like in a local store…?

Let me know what you think!  I would love to know there are some other PB obsessed people out there…

5 Comments

Filed under cooking, just for fun

5 responses to “Thoughts on Peanut Butter

  1. Rachel

    I’m a huge fan of Peanut Butter & Company.. particularly the White Chocolate Wonderful and the Bees Knees. Actually, it’s pretty much the only PB I buy anymore 🙂

  2. NatalieBA

    Glad you found my blog – I hope you enjoy it! 🙂 Also happy there hear there are other PB obsessed people out there…

  3. Peanut butter is definitely awesome to experiment with! I’ve had a bunch of different kinds, but I’ve come to the conclusion that I don’t really have a favorite. They’re all awesome in different ways. I don’t like any kind that you have to refrigerate, because it takes all of the flavor out when it’s cold. Skippy is awesome, but maybe not quite salty enough. I’m a big fan of Smuckers natural…cuz it’s super salty. But I hate that you have to stir all of the oil in.

    Yeah, I don’t think you’re alone. As far as I’m concerned…peanut butter is important! ha! Oh, and almond butter is amazing too. We make our own sometimes.

    I’ve just been blog hopping tonight and really enjoy your blog! Subscribing! 🙂
    –Abigail @ Rear Window

  4. NatalieBA

    Ooo, great! Thanks! Now, should I try to original or chocolate one first??

  5. peanutbutterfingers

    good news! if you wanna try PB2 you can order it at netrition.com & only order ONE jar. 🙂 the texture is definitely different (& real pb is clearly better), but PB2 is delicious in its own right! 🙂

let me know what you think!

