Blog Update

I wanted to check in with you guys about some plans and ideas I have for my little blog.  As we all know, I started my blog to document all the ways in which I might be a grown up, which at the time was mostly focused on my then upcoming wedding.  Now that the wedding has happened and been recapped (you can see the posts all listed out here), I plan to start diving into other grown up and non-grown up things.

The first fun new thing is that my friend Mer is going to start blogging here.  Amazing.  Get excited.  More on that to come soon.

The next new thing is that I’m currently planning to do this with various “series” on topics of interest to me.  I think this will (hopefully!) be a good template for future grown up adventures as well as current ones.  The ones I’m thinking of right now are:

Friday Finds – this was launched last week and is where I will share anything that I think is pretty neato.

Design Ideas – this series will start later this week and is a place for me to share all the ideas I have for our house.  Much like what I did with my wedding planning, I hope that I can use this as a way to document what I like as far as home design goes.  I keep reading about how you’re supposed to keep track of things you like so you can determine your own design aesthetic.  I see this series sharing images as well as DIY projects and general ideas.

{LOVE that mirror and the pillow and the idea of having a plant that isn’t dead, found here}

Travel Bug – Even though I am a homebody, I love to travel and discover new places, both near and far.  I come across all these fun vacation ideas and beautiful places and I want create a place to keep track of them all so that I can, one day, maybe go there.  Or at least relive my most favorite travel fantasies on a regular basis…

{source}

Kitchen Fun – Even though I haven’t shared too much of what I’ve been cooking up in the kitchen, I really want to!  I cook almost every night and there is pretty much no evidence of that here on my blog… While I don’t always know what I’m doing, I love doing it and I usually make pretty good things (or perhaps I just have a really, really nice husband).  Why not share some of the yumminess with you guys?

{a recent adventure, found here}

Ok, that’s it for now.  I don’t know that I’ll have all the kinks worked out right away, but I’m really looking forward to being a little more organized and thoughtful about what I’m putting out there.  Hopefully you will enjoy my blog that much more!

Oh, and one more thing.  I promise this won’t go the way of “Year In Pictures” (see here for the sad, sad state of that project).  Year In Pictures was a fun idea, but my life just isn’t interesting enough to document daily (after the 65th picture of chambers being cute, I decided to pull the plug).  That doesn’t mean I’ve stopped taking pictures, I’ve just stopped forcing myself to take a picture every day.  I do plan to share some of the more interesting random pictures I take on the Year In Pictures pages, though, so check back on occasion, if you like!  I’ll leave you with a recent funny one to enjoy…

1 Comment

Filed under just for fun

One response to “Blog Update

  1. I’m also attempting to document a year in photos (http://www.flickr.com/photos/emilyrowlands/collections/72157624546362182/), and I’m also struggling. I decided to just post when I can and not stress myself out about getting a good photo every day.

    Oh, and I’m really looking forward to hearing about your adventures in the kitchen!

let me know what you think!

