Kitchen Fun: Spaghetti Squash, Attempt 1

As you may remember, I wanted to try making spaghetti squash as a substitute for pasta.  The recipe that follows is my first attempt.  Brian really liked this meal and I thought it was pretty good, though nothing like pasta.  The best part about making this was that I made something that was totally out of my comfort zone and it was edible, which was very encouraging.

The first step is to cut a medium sized spaghetti squash in half, put it on a foil lined cookie sheet, and brush it with olive oil.

Pop it in a 350 degree oven for 30-40 minutes, basically until the flesh is tender and can be scraped with a fork. This is what mine looked like when it was ready.

While the squash is cooking, chop up some mushrooms, red peppers, shallots and parsley.  Also, find some artichoke hearts, kalamata olives and goat cheese.  You’ll need those things in a little bit.

Put all the veggies in a pan with a little olive oil, salt and pepper saute them up.

Once they’re soft, add in the parsley and take the pan off the heat.

Once the squash is done cooking, let it cool for a bit, then scrape out the flesh with a fork, creating spaghetti-like strands.  Now, trust me on the waiting until it’s cool part.  I’ve tried to do this before it was cool enough and not only singed off my finger prints, but then tried, unsuccessfully to scrape them out with oven mitts on.  It was not pretty.

Put the squash together with the veggies and add as much goat cheese as you want and stir it all up.  Serve and enjoy!

So, what do you think of my little recipe?  Something you’d try?  We liked it (though Brian did like it better than I did!).

3 Comments

Filed under cooking

3 responses to “Kitchen Fun: Spaghetti Squash, Attempt 1

  1. Mmm this looks tasty! I love spaghetti squash AND goat cheese, so definitely going to be trying this recipe out!

  2. It looks and sounds good. I will try it as soon as squash is in full season – I can’t let go of the summer quite yet. And I have to admit that your dad is right – my man will probably complain about the lack of meat, too. So I will have to add some kind.

  3. Dad

    Looks good, except that it is bereft of the key ingredient: meat. Try some grilled lamb…

let me know what you think!

