Kitchen Fun: Apple Pie

I made this and I am very proud of myself.

I used Joy the Baker’s filling recipe and Smitten Kitchen’s crust recipe and I followed both to a tee, so I’m not going to recap exactly how I did it here.  Both ladies are pretty entertaining writers and I would hate to deprive you of their words.

Brian loves apple pie, so I knew I had to try it as part of my Thanksgiving trial runs (more on that soon!).  It was SO good and is definitely going to be making an appearance on the big day.

Mmm….

What pies are your Thanksgiving favorites?  I’m probably going to make two pies and am trying to pin down the second – should I do a berry pie (my personal favorite!) or pumpkin or pecan?? Decisions, decisions…

{all photos by me}

8 Comments

Filed under cooking

8 responses to “Kitchen Fun: Apple Pie

  1. Dorsett

    I’m so impressed with all your beautiful kitchen experiments! I need to start thinking about Thanksgiving as well… how easy was this pie to make? Also, will you be in town for Thanksgiving? I’ll be around from Tuesday-Friday-ish 🙂

    • NatalieBA

      It is not difficult, but it is involved… you can take a look at the recipes (linked here). You really have to have a day open to make it, but you’re not doing something all the time – lots of doing something then waiting… I think you could also make it in advance and freeze it – something I’m going to try before the “big day” 🙂

  2. My sister-in-law makes an amazing pumpkin cheesecake for Thanksgiving that is always a huge hit- I’d be happy to share the recipe with you!

  3. Maddie

    Even though I share your love of berry pies, I think for T-Day (D-Day?) you should do a non-fruit pie since you’ll have the apple!!

    When you practice next time, I’ll be your tester 🙂

    • NatalieBA

      That is a good point – I hadn’t thought about the dual fruit potential. Pecan or pumpkin. I will certainly include in the next test group! 🙂

  4. Yum–that looks so delicious! I am thinking about making crack pie (Bon Appetit and on my blog) but I know my dad will be upset if we don’t have pecan… so probably pecan, apple and pumpkin! Thank goodness for Trader Joe’s pie crust!

let me know what you think!

