Design Ideas: Holiday Edition

I thought I would share to recent holiday-related decorating projects I did, in case you’re looking for something to spruce up your home for the holidays.

The first was a Martha Stewart project that seemed fairly easy (and low cost), but looked like it might add a little something special to my Thanksgiving celebration. Ladies and gentlemen, I give you: Welcome Pears!

How cute are they?! I just bought seven pears from my local grocery store along with a whole bunch of cloves and got to work spelling out “welcome” while my patient friend Dorsett entertained me.

They did take me a while (I’m a perfectionist), but they turned out really nicely, I thought. And boy did my house smell amazing. They lasted all weekend and when my company left, I pulled out all the cloves and made pear sauce with the pears! Yum!

My other holiday project was a display for my Christmas Cards. This is the first year Brian and I really received a bunch and so many of them had great pictures of our friends and family – I wanted to be able to see them all and admire them!

I went to Michaels and bought green and gold wired ribbon (though you could use unwired, too) and red embroidery floss. I twirled the green ribbon though the slots in my stair rail and attached the ends in place with tape. Then I tied a big bow to the post using both the green and gold. I found this Santa hat lying around and I thought it looked cute on top of the post…

Then I started sewing the cards to the ribbon using the embroidery floss and a big sewing needle I happened to have on hand. I tied the floss off with a bow, which I thought added a little charm to the display.

I really liked how it turned out!

What do you think? Are you taking on any fun Christmas crafts?

 

2 Comments

Filed under crafting, home

2 responses to “Design Ideas: Holiday Edition

  1. Glad Thanksgiving turned out so well, Natalie! If I ever get to host, I think I’ll just download all your lists and spreadsheets 🙂 At least I got an in-person tutorial on the pears to get me started!

  2. Oh, I love the pears idea… and the christmas cards look great… I see a cute baby in the mix! Merry Christmas!

let me know what you think!

